At WWDC, Apple announced its latest software for all its devices: iOS 14, iPadOS 14, watchOS 7, and macOS Big Sur. The new software updates for iPhones, iPads, Apple Watches and Macs will available this fall, with public betas for those will begin in July.

Apple unveiled iOS 14 with a number of new features including a new home-screen, picture-and-picture video, real-time, on-device translation, a streamlined Messages experience, and more. Apple says that iOS 14 can run on the iPhone 6s and later, which means those iPhones that currently runs iOS 13 is also supported by iOS 14.

For iOS 14, that includes the following devices:

  • iPhone 11
  • iPhone 11 Pro
  • iPhone 11 Pro Max
  • iPhone XS
  • iPhone XS Max
  • iPhone XR
  • iPhone X
  • iPhone 8
  • iPhone 8 Plus
  • iPhone 7
  • iPhone 7 Plus
  • iPhone 6s
  • iPhone 6s Plus
  • iPhone SE (1st generation)
  • iPhone SE (2nd generation)
  • iPod touch (7th generation)

While iPadOS 14 will be coming to all of these tablets:

  • iPad Pro 12.9-inch (4th generation)
  • iPad Pro 11-inch (2nd generation)
  • iPad Pro 12.9-inch (3rd generation)
  • iPad Pro 11-inch (1st generation)
  • iPad Pro 12.9-inch (2nd generation)
  • iPad Pro 12.9-inch (1st generation)
  • iPad Pro 10.5-inch
  • iPad Pro 9.7-inch
  • iPad (7th generation)
  • iPad (6th generation)
  • iPad (5th generation)
  • iPad mini (5th generation)
  • iPad mini 4
  • iPad Air (3rd generation)
  • iPad Air 2

macOS Big Sur

Apple also announced the next major release of macOS in the form of macOS Big Sur. This year, macOS will be getting a lot of new features that make the latest update exciting.

Google Pauses Gemini AI’s Capability To Generate AI Images of People
Buy Me A Coffee

Some of the new features include an iOS-like design, Control Center coming to Mac, a revamped Siri with improved privacy controls, Apple’s new translation software, and more. Check out compatible macOS Big Sur Macs below:

  • MacBook (2015 and later)
  • MacBook Air (2013 and later)
  • MacBook Pro (late 2013 and later
  • Mac mini (2014 and later)
  • iMac (2014 and later)
  • iMac Pro (2017 and later)
  • Mac Pro (2013 and later)

The biggest hits are coming to the Apple Watch lineup: watchOS 7 will only run on the Apple Watch Series 3, Series 4, and Series 5, with the Series 1 and Series 2 models both set to lose support.

Additionally, Apple warns that “not all features are available on all devices,” meaning that even if your Apple Watch is getting the new update, it might not get all the new features depending on how old it is.