Imagine a stranger having access to your Facebook Account including your messages and all the information that you have shared with. Isn’t this a nightmare? Imagine, Someone publishes something strange and uncharacteristic. It might be a naughty comment, inappropriate video, or controversial opinion. Their next post absolves them of ‘their’ suspect content by claiming they were hacked.

There are more than 2.2 billions active Facebook users. This is why hackers’  prime target is Facebook. If your account has been hacked and you are worried what to do next then, we have gather some steps that your should follow immediately to regain access to your account.

Indicators that someone may have hacked your Facebook account are:

  • Your email or password has changed.
  • Your name or birthday has changed.
  • Friend requests have been sent from your account to people you don’t know.
  • Friend requests have been sent to people who are already your friends.
  • Posts that you didn’t create appear to be from you.
  • Friends receive messages from you that you didn’t write.

Confirm the Hack !

It might be one of your friend who posted a funny status because your forgot to Log Out or it can be the apps that posted on your behalf because you have given permission to post. You should figure this out first. Secondly, have a look where you are logged in. If you can still log in, go to Settings > Security and Log In. Look at the last devices you’ve logged in from, and check if any are unfamiliar. You can also cross-check the dates to see which of those log-ins were (not) you.

READ
2FA Bypass Flaw Could Affect Over 70 Million Sites

Report it to Facebook

Facebook has a convenient URL, https://www.facebook.com/hacked/ where you can let them know your account has been compromised, even when you can’t access your own account. You’ll be prompted to type in the phone number or email you used to open the account.

Using these details, Facebook will help you regain access to your account. Facebook will also ask how you think your account was hacked. The options included are:

  • Posts/messages on your timeline that you didn’t write.
  • Your private content has been made public.
  • You found a duplicate account with your name and photos.

Based on your answer, Facebook will suggest security measures and “walk” you through them.

Change All Your Passwords

The Facebook Reporting tool will nudge you to do so, but even if it’s a benign hack, change the password to be safe. While you’re at it, change all your other passwords, too. Your Facebook account may have shared passwords with other apps.

Double-Check Your Permissions

This applies in both cases – whether or not your passwords were changed without your consent. Go to your apps and review who has access to your account. If there are apps you don’t recognize or no longer use, revoke their access. You’ll find them under Settings > Apps and Websites.

Facebook Permissions

After removing the apps, search your timeline for any posts those deleted apps had published on your behalf. You may delete them, but only if they bother you. The apps may still have the data they collected in the past, but they can’t collect any more details from your account.

READ
Facebook's Libra Currency Could Debut In January

Enable 2FA Authentication

Facebook now offers two-factor authentication. When someone logs in, a code will be sent to your mobile phone, verifying it’s you. This only works if the hacker doesn’t have your smartphone as well though. Facebook has an option to have a pre-selected Facebook friend receive the authentication code on your behalf.

Facebook Two Factor Authentication

To enable two-factor authentication, go to Setting > Security and Log In.

Alert Your Friends

Tell your Facebook friends that your account was hacked. Warn them not to click any links that may have come from your account during the time it was hacked and out of your control. Hackers who compromised your account may have posted on your friends’ pages or sent links in comments or private messages.

Run Security Checkup

Facebook’s Security Checkup feature adds additional security to your account. You can use Security Checkup to:

  • Log out of Facebook from unused browsers and apps.
  • Receive an alert when someone logs in to your account from an unrecognized mobile device or computer.