Yahoo has announced it will be removing all content from its free long-running online discussion boards, Yahoo Groups.

While Yahoo said in a statement that the Yahoo Groups site will continue to exist, users will no longer be able to upload any new content to the site as of October 21, and from December 14, all previously posted content on the site will be permanently removed.

Yahoo has made the decision to no longer allow users to upload content to the Yahoo Groups site. Beginning October 28, you won’t be able to upload any more content to the site, and as of December 14 all previously posted content on the site will be permanently removed. You’ll have until that date to save anything you’ve uploaded.

Yahoo Statement

The content that will be affected include files, polls, links, photos, folders, database, calendar, attachments, conversations, email updates, message digest, and message history.

“You’ll have until that date to save anything you’ve uploaded,” the announcement post read. Users will also be able to download their own data from the site’s privacy dashboard, Yahoo said.

The company added that all public groups will be made private or restricted, which will provide administrators with limited access and allow them to manage various group settings and administration tools.Any new group members will need to request an invite or be invited by an administrator to join a private or restricted group, Yahoo said.

READ
Facebook's Libra Currency Could Debut In January