Every day, millions worldwide watch short-form videos on TikTok and share their own clips. Some do it to be creative and sociable; others are seeking popularity. But as in any online community, TikTok is not just a platform for cool bloggers and their fans. It is also home to haters, spammers, and scammers. We tell you what security and privacy settings will help protect your account from them.

Let’s say you logged in from someone else’s device and forgot to log out. Or you fear your account might have been hacked. Checking to see whether someone else is using your TikTok account is easy.

  • Tap Manage devices to see which phones your TikTok account is open on.
  • Log out devices that you do not use by tapping the trashcan icon next to the relevant gadget in the list and selecting Remove.
  • For safety, change your account password.

TikTok also lets you disable comments under a specific video. To do so, open the video, tap the three dots at the bottom right, and select Privacy settings. On the settings page that opens, tap Turn off comments for this video.

If, however, you want viewers to be able to speak their minds about your clips, but you do not want to manually remove spam and hate in the comments, try configuring a keyword filter. To do so:

  • Tap Comment filters.
  • Enable Filter spam and offensive comments. This is TikTok’s automatic moderator.
  • Turn on Filter keywords and specify words and phrases you don’t want to see next to your videos. The robot will hide comments that contain them.
READ
Avaddon Ransomware Shuts Down Its Operation And Releases Decryption Keys

How To Block Annoying Notifications In TikTok

Like any social network, TikTok lives for your attention. By default, the app keeps you apprised of every little thing that happens: likes, comments, new videos, recommendations. Annoyed by endless notifications? If so, turn off those you don’t want in the account settings:

  • Select Me on the home screen.
  • Tap the three-dot icon in the upper right corner.
  • Select Push notifications.
  • Deselect events that you do not wish to be notified about.

Alternatively, you can turn off all TikTok notifications in the device settings. To do so in Android:

  • Open your phone settings.
  • Select Apps & notifications.
  • Go to Notifications.
  • Scroll down to the list of apps.
  • Find TikTok in the list of apps and disable notifications from it.

In iOS:

  • Open your phone settings.
  • Go to Notifications.
  • Find TikTok in the list of apps and disable notifications from it.

How To Block Users In TikTok

If a fellow TikToker gets on your nerves and you do not want them to see or comment on your videos, block them. To do so:

  • Open their profile.
  • Tap the three-dot icon in the upper right corner of the screen.
  • Select Block.
  • Tap CONFIRM.

How To Make TikTok Videos Private

Clips are not always ready for posting straight away. You might want to touch up a video later or try out some filters and features. Or maybe you shot a video purely as a personal memento. TikTok lets you make the clip visible only to you (or you and your friends).

READ
How To Protect Your Child From Online Grooming

For a new video:

  • After uploading the video, tap Who can view this video on the Post screen.
  • Select Friends (if you want them to see it) or Private (if you don’t).

For video you already posted:

  • Open the video.
  • Tap the three-dot icon at the bottom right.
  • Select Privacy settings.
  • Tap Who can view this video and select Friends or Private.