Google Chrome Will Warn Users While Submitting Insecure Forms
These “mixed forms” (forms on HTTPS sites that do not submit on HTTPS) are a risk to users’ security and privacy. Information submitted on these forms can be visible to eavesdroppers, allowing malicious parties to read or change sensitive form data.
Specifically, Chrome will be making the following changes to communicate the risks associated with mixed form submission:
- Autofill will be disabled on mixed forms.
- When a user begins filling out a mixed form, they will see warning text alerting them that the form is not secure.
If a user tries to submit a mixed form, they will see a full page warning alerting them of the potential risk and confirming if they’d like to submit anyway.
Google previously tried to alert users to this issue by removing the lock icon when it detected an HTTP form, but the company says “users found this experience unclear and it did not effectively communicate the risks associated with submitting data in insecure forms.”