Dating giant Tinder is finally letting you avoid people you might not want to run into on a dating app. The company announced today it’ll start allowing people to block their phone contacts.

It’s easy! Share the contact list from your device to Tinder, and pick the contacts you want to block: 

  1. Open Tinder and tap the profile icon 
  2. Go to “Settings”
  3. Scroll down and select “Block Contacts” 
  4. Grant Tinder permission to access your contacts 
  5. Under the “Contacts” tab, select people you want to avoid from your contact list 
  6. Tap “Block Contacts”

Each time you use the feature, Tinder will pull your list of contacts from your device so that you can pick who you’d like to block.

Buy Me A Coffee

Can I manually add a contact?  

Yes. If you’d rather not share your contacts with Tinder, or if you want to block someone who isn’t saved in your contact list, you can manually add contact info. Here’s how: 

  1. Follow steps 1 – 3 above
  2. Then, tap the + icon at the top of the screen
  3. Input this person’s contact info and tap “Done”

How do I unblock someone? 

To unblock a contact in the Block Contacts feature, follow these steps: 

  1. Open Tinder and tap the profile icon 
  2. Go to “Settings”
  3. Scroll down and select “Block Contacts”
  4. Navigate to the “Blocked” tab
  5. Tap “Unblock” next to each blocked contact that you wish to unblock, or tap the menu icon in the top right-hand corner and select “Unblock All” 
READ
Twitter is Officially X.com Now

If a blocked individual has since changed their phone number and joins Tinder, their account could still surface.