Facebook-owned WhatsApp is rolling out its “View Once” feature, which deletes photos or videos from your chat after they’ve been opened by the recipient.
When sending a photo or video, you can make it view once by tapping the “1” button to the left of the send button. After the recipient opens it, it’ll be deleted.
The recipient will be able to see that it’s a disappearing photo, so it’s still the type of thing you’d only want to use for people you trust to not take a screenshot.
WhatsApp is rolling out the feature to everyone starting this week.
Bijay Pokharel
Bijay Pokharel is the Founder and Editor-in-Chief of Abijita, an independent technology and cybersecurity news publication established in 2017. A specialist in cybersecurity journalism, Bijay covers vulnerability research, malware analysis, enterprise data breaches, digital privacy, and emerging technologies. His work translates complex technical threats into precise, accessible, and actionable intelligence for security professionals and general readers alike. His reporting and investigative coverage are routinely cited and republished across leading technology and security media.



