According to Facebook, Off-Facebook activity is “a summary of activity that businesses and organizations share with us about your interactions, such as visiting their apps or websites.”

When you visit a website or open an app, like an online shopping app, your activity on their platform is shared with Facebook, who will then send you targeted ads based on that activity.

Facebook now lets you see a summary of the information it collects about your activity outside of its app, and lets you ‘control’ it by disconnecting that activity from your account.

You can disconnect your past off-Facebook activity from your account with the clear history control in your off-Facebook activity setting. Off-Facebook activity is a summary of activity that businesses and organizations share with Facebook about your interactions with them, such as visiting their apps or websites. They use Facebook’s Business Tools, like Facebook Login or Facebook Pixel, to share this information with Facebook.

To review your off-Facebook activity:

New Facebook

  1. Click DropDown arrow in the top right.
  2. Select Settings & Privacy > Settings.
  3. Click Your Facebook Information at the left column.
  4. Click Off-Facebook Activity to review. From here, you can also click Manage Your Off-Facebook Activity for more information. You’ll be asked to re-enter your password.

Classic Facebook

  1. Click DropDown arrow at the top right of Facebook and click Settings.
  2. Click Your Facebook Information at the left column.
  3. Click Off-Facebook Activity to review. From here, you can also click Manage Your Off-Facebook Activity for more information. You’ll be asked to re-enter your password.
READ
You Can Now Disable Insecure JScript In Internet Explorer