If you would like to add an Admin or Manager to your YouTube Channel without giving them access to your Google Account then you are in the right place. In this article, we’ll walk you through Channel Permissions, and how to invite people to help you manage your channel.

Inviting someone to manage your channel:

Buy Me A Coffee
  • is safer than sharing your password.
  • lets you give only the amount of access they need.
  • is less confusing by making the user comment or view videos on YouTube with their own channel.

To Add Access: 

  1. Go to studio.youtube.com
  2. On the left-hand side, click Settings.
  3. Click Permissions.
  4. Click Invite and enter the email address of the person you’d like to invite. 
  5. Click Access and select the role you’d like to assign to this person:
    • Manager: Can add or remove others and edit channel details. And upload, edit, publish, and delete videos. Can’t delete the channel.
    • Editor: Can upload and edit videos, and delete draft videos. Can’t add or remove others, delete published videos or the channel, or enter into contracts.
    • Editor (Limited): Can upload and edit videos, and delete draft videos. Can’t add or remove others, delete videos or the channel, enter into contracts or see revenue information.
    • Viewer: Can view (but not edit) channel details. 
    • Viewer (Limited): Can view (but not edit) channel details except revenue information.
  6. Click Save.

To Remove Or Change Access:

  1. Go to studio.youtube.com.
  2. On the left-hand side, click Settings.
  3. Click Permissions.
  4. Go to the person you’d like to remove and click the Down arrow. 
  5. Select a new role or click Remove access

Note: Channel permissions don’t support some parts of Studio just yet. Even though the owner can access these features, invited users can’t access:

  • Features that aren’t built into Studio, like playlist editing
  • Live Control Room
  • YouTube.com, any of the YouTube apps (including Studio Mobile), and YouTube APIs