If you’re reading this, chances are you’re one of over 2 billion people worldwide who use Facebook. The social networking giant isn’t showing any signs of slowing down, with an average of five new profiles created every second and 300 million photos uploaded daily. Because Facebook is such an integral part of people’s lives, the very thought of giving it up can be terrifying. But what if you wanted to step away?

What happens if I permanently delete my Facebook account?

  • You won’t be able to reactivate your account.
  • Your profile, photos, posts, videos, and everything else you’ve added will be permanently deleted. You won’t be able to retrieve anything you’ve added.
  • You’ll no longer be able to use Facebook Messenger.
  • You won’t be able to use Facebook Login for other apps you may have signed up for with your Facebook account, like Spotify or Pinterest. You may need to contact the apps and websites to recover those accounts.
  • Some information, like messages you sent to friends, may still be visible to them after you delete your account. Copies of messages you have sent are stored in your friends’ inboxes.

How do I permanently delete my account?Before deleting your account, you may want to log in and download a copy of your information (like your photos and posts) from Facebook. After your account has been deleted, you won’t be able to retrieve anything you’ve added.

To permanently delete your account:

Classic Facebook

  1. Click DropDown Icon at the top right of any Facebook page.
  2. Click Settings then click Your Facebook Information in the left column.
  3. Click Deactivation and Deletion.
  4. Choose Delete Account, then click Continue to Account Deletion.
  5. Enter your password, click Continue and then click Delete Account.
READ
Wi-Fi Standards, 802.11A/B/G/N/AC Explained

New Facebook

  1. Click DropDown in the top right of Facebook.
  2. Select Settings & Privacy > Settings.
  3. Click Your Facebook Information in the left column.
  4. Click Deactivation and Deletion.
  5. Choose Permanently Delete Account, then click Continue to Account Deletion.
  6. Click Delete Account, enter your password and then click Continue.

Can I cancel my account deletion?

If it’s been less than 30 days since you initiated the deletion, you can cancel your account deletion. After 30 days, your account and all your information will be permanently deleted, and you won’t be able to retrieve your information.

It may take up to 90 days from the beginning of the deletion process to delete all the things you’ve posted. Copies of your information may remain after the 90 days in backup storage that we use to recover in the event of a disaster, software error, or other data loss event. Facebook may also keep your information for things like legal issues, terms violations, or harm prevention efforts.